RSS

Scans, scans, scans

06 Mar

I am now officially bored of taking my pants off.

Monday involved yet another chill out in the stirrups. Follicles have increased from 20 to 23 on the right and 23 to 28 on the left. A few of them had gone to 16mm or thereabouts, but they weren’t quite ready for collection. The nurse was quite concerned about OHSS so they wanted to do a blood test to check my oestradiol levels. If it came back too high it would mean there’s too much activity in my ovaries and the treatment cycle would have to be cancelled. I was told the results would be back the same day, so then spent then next 7 hours fretting and panicking that the last few weeks of treatment were for nothing. Thankfully the results came back at 17000. (Apparently this means there are 17 eggs, but I’m not sure….). I had to adjust my stimulating drugs again and go back for another scan on Wednesday 6th March.

So today, we trudged back to the clinic and I took my place in the oh so familiar stirrup bed, anxious about what was going on down there. The nurse was looking at the screen for what seemed like an eternity, taking notes and muttering. Then she mentioned the words no patient wants to hear “I’d like the Doctor to have a look” my heart jumped into my mouth and my stomach dropped. I automatically assumed something must be wrong if the doctor needed to look. As it turned out. The nurse wanted to doc to check me out because there were so many follicles of different sizes and it was better for the doctor to see for herself. Phew!

However, when the doctor looked, she wanted me to have another oestradiol blood test before they could confirm if my treatment would continue, cue another tense few hours wait, feeling like I was on the edge of a precipice and could fall at any moment. There was a very real chance that my treatment would be cancelled and we would be right back at the beginning. Thankfully the nurse called to say that all levels were okay and we are good to go for egg collection on Friday!

I had one more injection to do, the ovitrelle injection which is a big boost of hcg to start the ovulation process, it’s the last injection in the cycle and what’s known as the trigger shot. I think I will really miss my injections, it’s a part of the process here you feel you can actually do something to help yourself in this process. Now it’s all in the hands of the doctors. And fate I suppose.

On another note, I stumbled across a new website that would benefit from a few new members, it’s an LGBT forum for like minded people to ask advice, swap stories and generally support one another. http://www.lesbian-parenting.com give it a try, the more members the better.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2013 in Baby Making

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Scans, scans, scans

  1. lostinalife

    March 7, 2013 at 05:51

    Just reading your blog, I want nothing more than the best for you two! Good luck on your journey!!

     
  2. Makers Daughter

    March 7, 2013 at 11:25

    Lol, so funny. I’m tired of taking my pants off. ME TOO! My doctor doesn’t even chitchat anymore, I get into his office and I probably have already unzipped my boot in the waiting room. ^^

     
    • itsmekatielou

      March 7, 2013 at 11:54

      Funny you should say that, I started taking my boots off as soon as I got in the nurses room!

       
    • itsmekatielou

      March 9, 2013 at 22:49

      Thank you so much for making me one of your favourite posts of the week! I’m honoured!

       
  3. Sarah

    March 11, 2013 at 23:13

    How did your ER go on Friday? Hope everything went smoothly and you have lots of beautiful embryos by now! How many are you planning to transfer back?

     
    • itsmekatielou

      March 11, 2013 at 23:51

      It went well! I’ll post about it soon as I can, I can only have 1 put back, I don’t have a choice, unless none of them are very good quality

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

